Another Book Quote

“In the keen distress of the discovery of his unworthiness, I thought more of all that was brilliant in him, I softened more towards all that was good in him, I did more justice to the qualities that might have made him a man of a noble nature and a great name, than ever I had done in the height of my devotion to him. Deeply as I felt my own unconscious part in his pollution of an honest home, I believe that if I had been brought face to face with him, I could not have uttered one reproach, I should have loved him so well still – though he fascinated me no longer – I should have held in so much tenderness the memory of my affection for him, that I think I should have been as weak as a spirit-wounded child, in all but the entertainment of a thought that we could ever be reunited. That thought I never had. I felt, as he had felt, that all was at an end between us. What his remembrances of me were, I have never known – they were light enough, perhaps, and easily dismissed – but mine of him were as the remembrances of a cherished friend, who was dead.”

– David Copperfield by Charles Dickens

I love, love, love re-reading books and discovering new passages that speak to you in a way they didn’t before. Reading is such a transformative experience, and coming back to an old favorite is a miraculous way to bring to light the way you’ve changed since the first time you found yourself among those pages.

5 thoughts on “Another Book Quote

  1. Wonderful Insight Dear Amethyst Lamb Indeed
    We Evolve Across the Life Span Through All

    The DarK And Light Troughs and Crests of

    Waves We Experience as Paths Diverge on the Journey

    Ah Yes And We Leave ArTiFAcTS Behind Indeed All the Arts
    We Consume All the Arts We Create From Stories in Books to

    All the Homes
    And Places
    And Schools
    And Work Places
    We’ve Lived in And Of Course
    All the People and Pets the Lists

    Really Never End As All is Still Connecting
    ThiS WaY When We ReViSiT The ArTiFAcTS Of Our

    Past Reflections DarK Thru LiGHT Return as We Better
    Understand Who We Were And Who We aRe Still Becoming Now

    Best of All As We Continue
    to Create New Arts Visit
    New Places Meet New
    People Love New
    Pets And the
    Rest of Nature
    Newly ThiS WAY
    We Grow We Grow We Grow Some More…

    Blooming On May Days Year ‘Round With SMiLes..:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment