Strange Kind of Love

I have a weird
relationship
with my father
he’s like a
mysterious stranger
that perplexes
and often enrages me
but still someone
that I love
and also pity
in an odd
prickling mixture

A constant
though distant
presence
an impenetrable
mental enigma
usually seeming
cold and aloof
but now I think
he’s just autistic
like I am
I don’t really
know him

And he definitely
doesn’t know me
at all
which I find
bizarre and sad
but I don’t know
if he feels
that way
I don’t know
how he feels
about anything
or if he does

I like to think
one day I’ll
be bold enough
to force a real
conversation
out of him
but I also know
that’s probably
not true
he’ll probably
leave this world
like he lived in it

a total stranger

But I’ll remember him
as the man who
brushed my hair
before kindergarten
the man who
tricked me into
telling him what his
Christmas gift was
so easily that
I cried when
I found out
I wasn’t supposed to

I’ll remember
that day we spent
in the woods
in the winter
he and my sister
I’ll remember
how he carried
our old dying dog
back up the hill
in the freezing cold
and I finally saw
how much he loved him

4 thoughts on “Strange Kind of Love

  1. SMiLes Dear Amethyst Lamb

    my Father Very Distinguished Looking
    Like A Figure in a Wax Museum Impossible

    To get to Know too Only Three Instances He Expressed

    Emotions Were Quick Meltdowns When His cat of 20
    Years Died, When my Son of 51 Days Died, And When His

    Second of Four Marriages Ended Other than that Set

    in Stone
    With the
    Wisest Looking
    Green Eyes Just

    Nothing to Really
    Say in His 46 Year
    Law Enforcement Career

    And True After That Routine
    Ended He Seemed to Have a
    Brief Meltdown at Retirement too

    Yet It Was Just Anxiety Filled it Seemed
    For only one Instance i Observed of his life too…

    Yet For the Other 99.999 Percent of His Life He
    Looked Like James Bond With a Cigarette in His Hand

    Never Any Sign of
    Anxiety Fear or
    Any Other Emotion

    Yet Intense Focus on His
    Interests of Work NASCAR Guns and Knives

    Hehe Nah Roses and Other Flowers Weren’t HiS Way

    There is Zero Doubt Both me and my Sister Inherited
    Asperger’s Syndrome from Him and me Particularly
    Influenced by the Bi-Polar Spectrum on my Mother’s Side

    Where Strangely Enough
    When i Am Not Under
    Severe Stress Both

    Propensities Balance

    Each Other Out as i am
    A Bit Hybrid Like Spock
    Still Able to Soul Meld With Others

    My Systemizing Mind Comes From Dear
    Old Dad and my Creativity comes from my
    Mother Who was an actual Published Poet

    Just free
    verse for
    me With SMiLes

    And True the Apples Don’t
    Fall Far From the Trees as
    my Wife Will Relate Under the
    Intense Stress of Work i Was
    Barely Alive and Human For Many Years

    at Home
    too It’s all

    About Balance

    This Life of Many
    Colors and Shades of Grey

    For Awhile There i Was Most
    Definitely ‘The Cat’s in the Cradle’…

    You Know What They Say…

    All Cats are Autistic

    Always a

    Favorite of
    Mine too With SMiLes…

    For So Many Years Cats
    Were the Only Creatures
    i Could Feel A Real Part of me…

    And All that would Bring me tears too

    When
    Lost or
    Otherwise Left….

    All the Ups and Downs
    Make What Is Still Is With SMiLes…

    Eventually i Became my Own Father

    And True it Took 53 Years to Do It

    If We Live Long Enough at Best We
    LEarn to Become Our Own Father, Mother,
    FRiEnD, Lover, And Even Child A Long Enough

    Life Leaves
    few other choices..:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment